Marathon Training

Some thoughts about running the Stockholm marathon.

Running a marathon is something, like I have written before, that I never thought I would want to do. I have always been a runner but never set such a difficult goal for myself before. Running the half marathon last year was fun (even if I got a stitch and didn’t do as well as I had hoped) and at first I was thinking I should do that this year again. I think the reason why I signed up to do a marathon instead is because I wanted a goal that would mean I have to train hard and focused to reach it. (It was really easy to sign up and decide to do it 🙂 )

However, it is now time to really start training for it so that I can actually manage to run it in June. I have made a very clear plan for which sessions I need to do each week up until the race. The aim is to build endurance rather than trying to run faster. I don’t know how my body will cope with running that long and under which conditions I will be running on the day so I feel that setting a time goal would be unnecessary for me personally. Maybe if I run another marathon I can set a time goal when I have the experience.

I am very much looking forward to it and I know it will be tough and amazing at the same time.

Right now I am in Tettnang, Germany and I will try to follow my schedule here as well. I had a long run planned for today, 120 mins. I did 105 mins in the end, because I got a bit of pain in my ankle (I think I stepped awkwardly on a pine cone), but it felt good otherwise. I did 18 km and had no cramp in my legs.

IMG-20160313-WA0019

From my long run today – had the forest to myself!

It is beautiful here, we are right next to Lake Konstanz (Bodensee) and you can see the Alps when it is clear.

I hope you all have a good week!
/Sofi

Leave a Reply

