Our Weekend, Week 50 – Lucia!

It’s Monday again, yay! Or not 🙂

We had a great weekend so that makes up for the fact that today it was cold and dark when you had to go up and go to work.

On Friday we both came home from work feeling a bit tired, like you usually do after a long week going up at 6 o’clock. We still decided (or I did) that a session on the turbo trainer and rollers for Jason would be a good idea to set the mood for the weekend. Sometimes physical exercise makes you relax so much better than to just go lie on the sofa.

We did an interval session with Sufferfest video. This was my first time this winter on the turbo trainer and it felt good! After the session we made a nice dinner and just relaxed.

On Saturday we got up early because my parents were coming to see us. When they arrived we had some coffee before going into town for lunch. After lunch Jason made a quick detour to go and get a signed copy of Fredrik Kessiakoff’s new book. He is a Swedish former professional cyclist. Jason then joined us at Liseberg.

IMG-20151212-WA0013

Liseberg is an amusement park here in Gothenburg and in December it turns into a Christmas landscape where you can see snowmen, snow covered Christmas trees and Santa Claus. It all feels a bit artificial since there has not been any real snow yet this year. But you do get into a nice Christmas feeling with all the Christmas music playing and the Christmas food that you can buy as well. There is an ice skating rink and they have real reindeer from Lapland (north of Sweden).

We walked around and looked at everything and bought a few things. My mum entered one of the many raffles they have and was lucky enough to win a large box of chocolate 🙂

IMG_20151212_200856

After a few hours we went back to town so that Jason could buy a Christmas outfit. In the afternoon after my parents had left, I went for my second running session of the week. I had decided to do 3 sessions this week and since there were only 2 days left it had to be done! 🙂 So, I went out with the intention to do an interval session. Unfortunately it had become very slippery on the roads so it was impossible to run fast and when it is dark you have to be extra careful since you can’t really see what you step on. The last thing I want is an injury so I decided to take it slow. It is better to finish the session in a different way than to skip it altogether.

In the evening we made a nice dinner and an apple pie! We love apple pie and it was delicious. There will be a recipe up shortly.

DSC08198

On Sunday it was Lucia and time for Jason to use his Santa outfit. He was doing a cyclocross race here in Gothenburg. I came to see the race just as they were starting. Many cyclists had shown up but Jason had the best outfit 🙂 The sun was shining and I really enjoyed standing there in the sunshine watching them get muddy.

Jason had a few problems with his Santa outfit. I don’t think it’s the best cycling outfit (at least not if you want to win). However, that was not what he was after. He just wanted to have fun, and so he did. He won a prize for best outfit in the race so I think he was pleased 🙂

23718811095_985f3e46c8_h DSC08212

Very amusing for me to watch and before going home I went past town to buy a few things. When I came home Jason was already home again and washing his bike on the balcony. I made us some lunch and after eating I decided to go for my last running session of the week. The plan for the final session this week was a distance run. I will try to do one every week now and a distance between 10-15 km. I knew there was about 1 hour of daylight left and so it was perfect for an hour’s run. The sun was still shining and it was the perfect temperature. It had become a little bit icy on the roads again so I had to take it carefully on Sunday as well. That didn’t matter though since I did not want to push too hard and keep the average pace to 5.20-5.40 min/km. In the end I ran 11 km with an average pace of 5.25 min/km so it was perfect.

20151213_141614

We then did our weekly shopping and ended the evening with a Christmas movie and the left-over apple pie!

This week is a bit hectic but I will really try to get my training sessions done no matter what.
I hope you will all have a great week!

/Sofi

Leave a Reply

