Our Weekend, Week 13

Another week down, and for us it was another weekend apart 😦

Sofi has been at home, still nursing a cold and looking after our friends’ dog, and I have been further south in Sweden for a training camp with our cycling club.

The training camp was from Thursday to Sunday, with three days (Fri, Sat, Sun) of organised rides. I took the train after work with Evan on Thursday, and then we settled in before having dinner and finding out what was going to happen over the weekend in a bit more detail.

We had decided to ride with the race group, because Mattias Reck, trainer for Team Giant Alpecin (the guy who also spoke at the seminar at Chalmers the week before), was going to do a session with that group on the Saturday. So our Friday ride was a 110 km ride with 7 tough climbs on Hallandsåsen (a ridge in that part of the country). (The other groups did a 100 km flat ride on the Friday and were tackling the climbs – either 5 or 7 over 50 km or 70 km respectively – on the Saturday.)

The group we had was really good and the roads and climbs were fantastic. I had only ever ridden here once before (when I cycled 258 km from Gothenburg to Helsingborg in September), so for me it was nearly all new! I really enjoyed the climbs, and especially enjoyed my new bike, but I couldn’t push myself as hard as I had hoped because I was still feeling the after effects of my cold, and couldn’t get my pulse over 170 bpm (my max is just over 190 bpm).

DSC06689 DSC06695

On Friday evening (after a recovery sauna and shower) there was dinner and then a quiz, which my table won!

On Saturday Mattias came down in the morning and told us the plan for our ride. He is really enthusiastic and, as a coach to some of the best sprinters in the world, he really knows his stuff. The plan was simple: cycle hard! We were going to do lots of speed work with some sprints thrown in (as attacks). We ended up doing 130 km on some great roads.

After the last tough interval of speed and sprints, we had a very steady climb, which I did at a nice steady pace with Mattias, giving me a chance to speak to him and listen to more of his wise words 😀

I felt much better during Saturday’s ride, although once we reached top speed and when I did my sprint attacks, I could feel I was still lacking some aerobic capacity, but otherwise I had no troubles. But I will say that Reck wrecked us #getRecked 😀

DSC06708 DSC06712 DSC06722

After dinner on Saturday, Mattias held a talk. He discussed how he and the other management work at Giant Alpecin, and then discussed how his riders train and how he can monitor them and so on. It was really fascinating, just like it was the week before. He clearly has a wealth of knowledge and it would be interesting to have an even longer presentation by him.

20150328_204841

Sunday was a wet day, so instead of cycling, me and Evan decided to get an early train home 🙂 Once I got home, me and Sofi went into town to the new Specialized store that opened this weekend and I bought her two new pairs of gloves (and we both got a free water bottle for checking in on Facebook), then we had lunch at Vapiano before heading home to spend the afternoon resting and recovering!

20150329_131948

I definitely need some rest now though, as my cold was holding me back and I want to be better when I’m cycling in England next week with Sofi, my dad, and my sister 🙂


 

So what did I (Sofi) do at the weekend? 🙂

I was at home, taking care of the dog, and just trying to take it easy. I was ill at the beginning of the week and when I went back to work on Thursday it was because our third year students were having seminars the whole day and I was one of the persons leading one of the groups 😦 So Thursday and Friday were a bit tough since I was still  ill.

IMG-20150330-WA0004

On Friday my friends Sanna and Srdan came over and I cooked them a nice meal and we talked all evening.

IMG-20150327-WA0003

On Saturday I met my friend Malin for lunch, we then went to Hagabadet (a very nice spa in the centre of Gothenburg, and they have opened a mini spa opposite us now as well) for an afternoon of just relaxing in the sauna and in the pool. We both bought magazines to read as well but we had too much to talk about so we didn’t read them at all 🙂 After a few hours there we came back to my place and took the dog for a nice long walk. We then made a delicious dinner, a vegetarian bun cha. We talked and watched a film and then that day was over too.

IMG-20150330-WA0003 IMG-20150330-WA0005

My Sunday was spent with Jason when he got home from his training camp ❤

 

We hope you all did something fun this weekend!
/Jason and Sofi

 

2 thoughts on “Our Weekend, Week 13

  1. Pingback: Getting back on the bike | Active Beans

  2. Pingback: Getting back on the bike | Active Beans

Leave a Reply

