Mid-Week Catch Up, Week 7

So far we have had a great time in Spain.

On Monday we had a very windy ride and also some rain which made those 60 km quite hard. On Monday evening we went out for dinner to an Italian restaurant. We ate good food and treated ourselves to some nice desserts.
DSC06099On Tuesday we had a rest day and went to Torrevieja for some shopping. We also tried a vegetarian restaurant and the food was really good.
DSC06105 DSC06100 DSC06106In the evening we made pasta with asparagus. You need carbs when you are training and what can be better than pasta for that 🙂

Today we cycled up my first mountain 🙂 Jason has cycled up Sierra Espuña once before with his dad. He has also cycled other mountains on Jeju (South Korea) and in France last summer (Tourmalet and Hautacam among others).

I have really been looking forward to this as I want to keep pushing myself when it comes to cycling and see my abilities. This was my first mountain, but it will certainly not be my last, so much fun!

If someone had told me 3 years ago that I would love cycling and couldn’t wait to cycle up a mountain I would not have believed them. Life can change so much in a few years and right now I am loving the feeling of having found something I love doing 🙂 with someone I love doing it with ❤

DSC06137Sierra Espuña is 1500 meters. It is 25 km to the top and Jason was expecting it to take about 2 h. That is a long way just climbing.

We took it easy from the beginning, the goal was just to do it, not aiming to do it fast 🙂 Unlike the Astana pro cyclist that went past us at a very high speed. We heard him coming and then he was gone just as quick 🙂

DSC06149The higher we came the colder it got 🙂 When we reached the top there was snow on the ground and it was very misty. However, it felt very good and like a great achievement for me!

DSC06187DSC06193 DSC06198The descent was VERY cold to begin with. But when we came further down it got warmer again. Hardly pedaling for 25 km going down was great though!

Tonight we are enjoying some wine and homemade tapas. Tomorrow will be a short ride to watch the sunrise and get me some QOMs 😉

We hope you are enjoying your week as much as we are and that you are able to go out in the fresh air and get some exercise.
/Sofi

2 thoughts on “Mid-Week Catch Up, Week 7

  1. Pingback: Goodbye 2015, a look back | Active Beans

Leave a Reply

